Beautiful weather and badass chicks

Good morning, Wednesday. It's such a beauty in New York today- feels like Fall and all is right with my constitution. I am such a chill in the air kind of chick. Love myself a crisp morning. Feeling inspired. And speaking of inspiration, my deliriously well styled friend (and hairdresser extraordinaire) posted some pics from photographer Billy Ray, who infamously cozied up to the Hell's Angels back in 1965 and took some fantastic pictures. Looking back at that amazing era, loads of things were happening in the States that were about to completely change the game-  LBJ orated on the "Great Society" we sent our first troops to Vietnam, Malcolm X was assassinated, we marched on Montgomery, and Bob Dylan plugged in. That's just a small snapshot of that incredible time (coincidentally the year my sister was born)- and one thing is clear as I looked through these amazing photos- change was afoot in this country. And though the Hell's Angels had a stormy and often violent approach to being American, they did represent something very different- a sense of danger, a middle finger to the establishment, and a love for the open road with a heaping dose of attitude and swagger. I would tear off both limbs to own a photo from this amazing series, that and Danny Lyons work on Kentucky bikers always got my motor running.

I love these photos for a million reasons but what struck me were the ladies of the gang. Damn. How amazing are they? As someone who has always related a little bit more to Rizzo than Sandy, how can you not love the tough, sexy vibe of these lovely ladies? After all, deep down we all love a rebel, and I have a feeling these ladies were almost as tough as the boys. Oh, and I'm not at all suggesting I approve of the way the Angels treated said ladies (many terrible tales there), but capturing these exquisite moments displays not only their snarly feline awesomeness, but also a style moment that resonated even years later- think Amy Winehouse, young Joan Jett, Balmain, even major fashion photographers like Peter Lindbergh, who shot one of my fav fashion photos of all time and made all the best supers Angels for the day in a September 1991 story for Vogue, photos below. Amazing and incredibly iconic, with a huge nod to Billy Ray. 

And damn if I don't want to pour a bottle of peroxide over my head right now and go platinum after looking at Ray's photos of that awesome blonde unkempt/done up do in that first pic above. Love. So glad my pal posted those this am on Facebook- with this gorgeous day, I'm fantasizing about getting out on the open road and being a lil bit wild, looking chic, naturally. What's sexier than motorcycles and bad asses? Nada. Cause that's what's up this tough chicks rule kind of Wednesday in the 212. I don't give a damn 'bout my reputation...XO