Choosing joy this post birthday week

Good morning, Tuesday. Well it was an amazing bday weekend, the kind that will go down in history for me as the kind of day that confirms getting older is not so terrible. As we age, we tend to look at birthdays with some disdain. And though there are many things nagging at me, I realize how much I feel grateful and thankful for, so wanted to share a few of those because they're well worth mentioning and meditating on and putting out into the ether to spread the love. I grew up in a household where people used to spit when you said out loud that something was good (in Yiddish it's called giving a kenahora or knocking on wood). You were almost jinxing yourself and everyone else if you said out loud that someone was healthy, a good driver, or happy to be alive. Imagine getting spit at every time you do that. Sigh. Yup. So  it's not easy for me to acknowledge all of the happy stuff in my life, but I'm flipping that old script right here, and right now. Because today it's all about sharing my joy, so here goes, because who knows what tomorrow brings:

The joy of good friends- This one. I can't tell you how grateful I am for the wonderful friends I've made over the years- from seeing a dear friend from Miami to hanging with two of my favorite OGs who ponied up a fortune to dine with me on my special day, I'd say that having such wonderful people in my life makes all the difference, and growing older together is easier than the alternative. Thank you all for tolerating me for all of these years. I love you all.

The joy of good food- This one. If you know me, you know I've been on a weight loss odyssey for a minute and this year has not really been so much about food for me, but rather, less of it. And less of the decadence I associate with good eating. Going to Blue Hill for my birthday made me really appreciate the joy of food that is transcendent and inspired. The meal starts so simply and ends in complete hedonistic bliss. I'd recommend it to anyone, even though it's closer to a mortgage payment than a meal when it comes to the price of admission. I love that I could experience that and appreciate it even more since I've been ridiculously disciplined in my diet of late. What a blessing to eat that way, even if for one night. Oh, and fancy smores. 

The joy of surprise visits from those who love you most- After such an evening, I was weary and happy and sleepy. But my aunt and sister came up to New York and surprised me with an amazing visit and a sunset cruise around the best city in the world. I have never felt so lucky or happy. I don't spend nearly enough time with my family, as in real quality time, and this was a reminder of how important it is to enjoy the people that love you the most in life. Had the best time.

The joy of an I don't give a single fuck kind of haircut- It's no secret my hair is an evolving canvas for me to express myself. It goes from shag to bob and back again- the color changes as often as I can do it. But this year I felt like going short again and chop I did. My dear friend Siobhan, the most talented scissor happy genius in the world, came over and chopped off most of my tresses, because, well, I don't give a single fuck about long hair. And it feels good. And looks pretty good, to boot. Having short hair shows character. And cojones. Plus long hair is a pain in this heat. I'm so much happier when it's short.

The joy of living so close to so many miraculous things- We all know living in this crazy city take a toll on our sanity from time to time, if not on a daily basis. But what's genius about living here is that we are close to so many fabulous places- from dinner at a farm in Tarrytown on the grounds of the former Rockefeller estate to being able to sail around the island of Manhattan and catch a sunset with a sea breeze chase- man. That's kind of everything. I love the opportunity to leave the city and feel recharged. Very important to me. And makes me appreciate this cuckoo town even more. Y'all already know how I feel about Montauk.

The joy of bare legs on hot nights- Having a birthday in the summer is a lovely thing, because you can always wear a pretty dress and not worry about being cold or your tights falling down. Good stuff. I do love bare legs. I don't love hot weather, but this post is all about stuff that brings me joy, and dresses with bare legs falls into that category of happy place.

The joy of less is more (makeup)- Another thing about Summer? Less is more when it comes to makeup. This also goes for getting older. I'm so happy with less now- it looks better and is easier and majorly cuts down on my morning routine. I'm all about a little CC cream (currently using the Armani version and love it), a little bronzer, and some liquid liner. Done and done. 

The joy of feeling hopeful- Some birthdays bring dread, but this year I feel hopeful that so many of the things I want to do will happen. Putting that in writing for all to see and think about. Hope is a powerful motivator. I highly recommend having some.

The joy of sleeping in- I find myself in a cycle during the week of going to bed early and getting up early, like most of us who are past college aged. I loved getting home after 2 am on Friday night and sleeping, well, most of the day on Saturday until I met my family. Sometimes a girl needs her rest. It's the best feeling and feels even more decadent than a Sancerre soaked 12 course dinner. Delicious.

The joy of true love- This should be at the top of the list, but I'm closing with it. I'm a lucky woman and I know it, because I have a wonderful husband who I met and have been with for 15 years this August- it just keeps getting better and I'm happy to call him my husband. Oh and I'm madly in love with my dog man, too. That's true and pure love of a different sort, but one I am very grateful to know. Adore both of those creatures. So very much.

And although this post may have you rolling your eyes, you cynics, it all had to be said. Because it's nice to think of joyful things when life is good, not just when you are frantically searching to figure out what it all means and why we are here. I'm sure you can all name 10 things that make you joyful, and I recommend you inner monologue the hell out of that list, or put it down on paper. And what's fun is that list can evolve and change, but finding joy in your everyday life is crucial to surviving everything from birthdays to commutes to three hour status calls, and that's the truth. Too often I'm mired in my lack of joy, when really, I should be celebrating all the good in my life. Share your joy as much as you can- we all know how short life is and how rampant misery is in this very hard world we live in. But once in a while, it's nice to hit pause and think about joy, and recognizing the good things you have in your life.  Cause that's what's up this choosing joy kind of Tuesday in the 212. Yours, in happy thoughts, and making good choices. XO