Maven pick: Marimekko's technicolor dreamcoat

Good afternoon, Tuesday. It's chilly here and cloudy here in the city and I am LOVING IT.

Naturally, I'm thinking about coats, because that's what girls like me do. We don't just think of pumpkin spice, warm bowls of pasta, and thicker duvets. We also think of everything else that is magical about Fall besides the wonderful comfort food and drink and foliage- we think of clothes. And shoes. AND COATS (insert giddiness).

I'm freelancing close to Madison Square Park and came upon the Marimekko store at lunch, one of my favorite happy places. Although I'm a well documented minimalist of late, I really do love a print. And Marimekko's Scandinavian ethos somehow takes a loud print to a minimalist place. It's all about the shapes and design of everything from a garment to a pillow. I just love that store and adore strolling through it on afternoons that are gloomy. It's instant sunshine.

And speaking of Vitamin D, allow me to share with you this fabulous coat I saw there-- the Mollis.  iI comes in the requisite black as well but this tangerine/gold/orange hue is absolutely divine. I worried there would be a high itch factor with the wool/mohair thing, but putting this coat on felt like wearing your very favorite wubby. It was soft and comfortable and just the right amount of oversized. I'm well aware this is not a coat for everyone. But some of my friends who get how to wear color will no doubt love this coat as well. I really do just love a bright coat, and I love how modern fashion is making bright colors kind of basic and in a way, neutral. It's my fav coat I've seen so far for sheer fun factor, and  I'd do it with jeans and heels or with a pretty dress and bare legs or tights or with boots or booties. I'd also love it with some old school shell toed Adidas, but that's just me.

But take heed- this is definitely a coat that's an investment (it's expensive), but it's a piece that costs a heck of a lot less than sessions under the UV lamp at some therapist's office on CPW in February, when you're feeling deprived of warmth and sun. A coat like this can fix that as soon as you put it on. It's just that good.

The photos on the website do it not a lick of justice- the way they've styled it is unbearable but in person it's a dream. Take my word for it, or go try it on for yourself.  It's nice in black as well, but really, life is short, isn't it? Why not live a bit more out loud this Fall/Winter?

Cause that's what's up this tangerine dream of a Tuesday. Yours, in technicolor dreamcoats. XO

Link to buy here.