Of dog paintings, decadence, and drawings- my wonderful anniversary weekend


Good afternoon- it's been nice hanging at home today with Presidents Day being celebrated around the city while offices and the workers who inhabit them take a respite from the normal Monday blues.  It's been an amazing weekend- we celebrated our 11 year wedding anniversary on Saturday and it's beyond me that we still manage to make each other laugh until we are in tears and continue to enjoy the adventure and exploration of who we are and who we shall become, all under the backdrop of where we fell in love in the first place, New York City. It's beyond a blessing, even though all of this snow stuff is getting to be a bit of a bore. 

And as you can well imagine, gifting for such amazing events becomes a challenge the more we are together- David and I both are pretty thoughtful gift givers, and his gift to me this year was really something so very special- a portrait (painting) of my adorable little Khan dog.  There will be those of you that just read the term dog portrait and rolled your eyes into the back of your brain. There's others of you who want to order one for yourselves or those you love right now. It matters not to me, because what matters is that my husband knows me well enough and loves me well enough to know that our pet means the world, and that a portrait of him dressed as a turn of the century scamp is pretty much more than I could ever ask for. The artist who created it is the genius Luke Jervis, a twentysomething who lives in London and somehow managed to capture dear Khan's soul, all via email and photos. Magic. My husband commissioned a painting for me. What could be cooler than that?

But there are always the skeptics, and the best reaction of all to this gift belongs to my mom, who started crying and looking at me with eyes full of some sort of pity. As if it's sad for me somehow that I missed out on having real babies, and somehow had to settle on a fur one, and that I'd gone a bit mad to have a painting made with his face, that I would ever want such a thing. I'm not sure what kind of mom you have, but I'm somewhat used to my mom twisting around the good things in my life, by saying things like "who knew you were so maternal" when I first got Khan. Sigh. Jewish mothers. Yay.

But I'll rewind a bit to Sauturday night because we got to go to an amazing restaurant called Bohemian, a sort of speakeasyish what's the password type spot in the back of what appears to be a residential building downtown. It's a whole thing (secret phone number, knowing a person who knows a person) but man, what a thing it turned out to be. It's Japanese and looks and tastes like Tokyo and is so damn near perfect I want to go once a week. There's only about 7 tables, all low slung and midcentury- and much like Tokyo, the decibel level is so spot on- the jazz is playing softly, the sound of the cocktail shaker is a perfect accompaniment to the hushed din of the crowd. After a just right highball (discovered  Yamazaki whisky this summer while over in Japan and can't turn back) and a fabulous bottle of sake, we ate everything from sea urchin croquettes to fried burdock root to oysters to a whole Branzino cooked with the most delicious vegetables- so simple yet complex and every bite to die for. The biggest highlight by far was the foie gras sushi- the indulgence of such a dish was druggy, in all the right ways- I'm a glutton for the gluttony. From the lighting, the food, and the wait staff in denim aprons who were the perfect balance of there when you need you/not there when you don't, this was a lovely evening- and hopefully if you go you'll sit a while- we were there for about 3 hours and some change. Amazing time.  There's very few meals that have inspired such giddiness- this was definitely one of them. Oh and we also had a graffiti lesson that day with Sen One, one of the original OGs (pic of him and his pals, most of whom were casualties of the crack epidemic) from back in the day when New York looked like "The Warriors". If you have a moment, do go to the great graffiti show at the Museum of the City of New York called "The City as Canvas". It's great and shows you a New York that was rebellious,raw, and hyper creative. I'm not sure there are that many pirates around anymore, and I miss them. As one twentysomething with a good haircut and expensive glasses said to our teacher, "You knew a New York that I will never know".  He's not kidding.  Double sigh.

As I sat there and learned about tagging and throw ups and pieces, I realized I need to take some drawing classes and get back into that part of myself again. Nothing makes me happier than drawing or feels more natural. I'm not a genius, but it makes me feel good inside to pick up a Sharpie and make something. (I'm on it).

So what did I get for David you may ask? There was a Fitbit (yea I know, electronic gift) which has taught us how soundly and well he sleeps (lucky bastard), there were a couple of ties and a tie bar (11 years is the metal anniversary), and there was also a private Ninja lesson, because knowing some Ninja skills will most likely come in handy in this town- lord knows we have the wardrobe for such endeavors. I have not told my mom about the Ninja thing, ps. She would never, ever understand...

The moral of this story is this- I'm a lucky woman to be with a man who is still so very thoughtful and mindful when it comes to marking our years together. And I love that finding him the perfect thing is still a favorite for me.  We both love finding the perfect gifts for each other, and from dog paintings to artful fish preparation to visiting a Ninja in Yonkers (what you wanted Tribeca?), we complete each other in the best of ways. And sure I know this whole post is in danger of being in the hyper brag social media zone, but I'm not gloating, just reveling in the fact that I get to live here and do these things and be married to someone to live here with me and do it all by my side. Had I not moved to New York and met him, I may very well be sitting in Philadelphia, being judged by my mother, who would never understand a canine masterpiece or a private Ninja experience. I'm glad things worked out.

Cause that's what's up this President's Day in Brooklyn. Yours, in gratitude for still getting a kick out of so very much. The city truly is our canvas, an endless well of inspiration and love and life. Happy anniversary to my sweetie- thanks for always knowing just what I need, even when it's more about what I want. XO